

Making Biblical Scholarship Accessible

This document was supplied for free educational purposes. Unless it is in the public domain, it may not be sold for profit or hosted on a webserver without the permission of the copyright holder.

If you find it of help to you and would like to support the ministry of Theology on the Web, please consider using the links below:



A table of contents for *The Baptist Quarterly* can be found here:

https://biblicalstudies.org.uk/articles_bq_01.php

1969, p.11, H. F. Lorkin attributes this statement to Spurgeon's lecture **DE PROPAGANDA** FIDEI. Seventh Day Baptist Peace Fellowship, vol.5 (nos.1 and 2), 1988, p.3.

- 28. This is to be the subject of a successor article.
- 25. Herald of Peace 9, n.s. (January 1867): 155.
- 26. Herald of Peace 4, n.s. (April 1856), p.4; Lorkin, p.11; Herald of Peace 16, n.s. (July 1879): 268-269 provides the text of eleven such resolutions and mentions another fifteen.
- 27. Reprinted from Peace-Beat, newsletter of the
- 29. The only nineteenth-century Baptist with an entry in Harold Josephson, ed., Biographical Dictionary of Modern Peace Leaders, Westport, 1985. King and Rauschenbusch are mentioned among twentieth-century peace leaders.

PAUL R. DEKAR Professor of World Christianity in the Centre for Mission and Evangelism, McMaster Divinity School, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, and representative of the Baptist Convention of Ontario and Quebec to the Commission on Peace and Justice of the Canadian Council of Churches; at present on research leave at Regent's Park College, Oxford, working on a history of Baptist peacemaking.

SOCIETY NEWS

ANNUAL MEETING This will take place at 4.30 p.m. on Monday, 22nd April 1991 in the Purbeck Lounge of the Bournemouth Conference Centre. The Annual Lecture will be given by Mr J. H. Y. Briggs, MA, FSA, FRHistS, on 'Evangelical Ecumenism: the amalgamation of General and Particular Baptists in 1891'.

SUMMER SCHOOL The Society will hold a Summer School at Regent's Park College, Oxford, from Friday, 28th June, to Sunday, 30th June 1991. Contributors will include Dr W. M. S. West - continuing the story of the Revd M. E. Aubrey, Dr Rosie Chadwick, and Dr Grant Gordon. It is hoped that Dr John Walsh will give a lecture. The resources of the Angus Library will be made available by the archivist, Mrs Sue Mills. Fuller details should already have reached all members.

BOOKS AVAILABLE In addition to the full range of the Society's own publications, the Treasurer still has a few copies of Leon McBeth's *The Baptist Heritage*, price £20, and the accompanying *Source Book for Baptist Heritage*, price £17.50.

THE PAYNE MEMORIAL ESSAY COMPETITION 1991 The Society offers a prize of £75 for an essay on the theme 'Mission: Home and Overseas', chosen with the 300th anniversary of the founding of the Baptist Missionary Society in mind. The essay may be an historical or contemporary study, theological or historical in treatment, and may focus on activities overseas or on home mission or home support. The essay should be an original, unpublished composition, based on personal research, that has not already been awarded another prize. The text, in typescript or clear computer print-out, should not exceed 10,000 words, plus any footnotes and bibliography considered necessary. There is no restriction of academic qualification, place of residence or religious profession on candidates. The winning essay, and any other deemed worthy, will be published in The Baptist Quarterly. The Society reserves the right to make no award if an essay of sufficient merit is not submitted. Candidates should send their essays to arrive on or before 31st December 1991. Envelopes should be marked 'Payne Memorial Essay Competition' and addressed to The Secretary, Baptist Historical Society, Bristol Baptist College, Woodland Road, Bristol BS8 1UN.

The Payne Memorial Essay Competition commemorates the life and work of the Revd Dr E. A. Payne CH (1902-80), General Secretary of the Baptist Union of Great Britain, a Vice-President of the World Council of Churches and President of this Society.